Rabble React: Thor Ragnarok Teaser

I’m a huge comic book movie fan and there was no way I could skip out on the Thor Ragnarok trailer. Did I enjoy it? Check it out!

This was the wildcard. I had ZERO clue what to expect for this movie as I’m not the most knowledgeable about Marvel and definitely not a huge fan of Thor comics or movies. In fair.  The franchise has tried to spice things up a bit. Natalie Portman’s character is traditionally a nurse and she was changed into some kind of astrophysicist for the movies. However she was never given much to do and Selvig’s character comes across as the true genius in the field. Kat Denning’s character is comic relief and portrayed as somewhat of a fool so the intelligence isn’t really there. Sif is cool but doesn’t do anything memorable to me. Thor’s mother was given one incredibly bad ass scene and then killed off right when things got good. Don’t even get me started on Heimdal being a glorified doorman.

Needless to say, Thor had some steps to take to increase the representation. Honestly, in a movie about Asgardian gods I’m not expecting a lot. My main problem is that the movies aren’t that good to me and multiple characters are underused. The Warriors Three include an Asian character (bit of a stereotype) but they don’t get as much screen time.

They’re trying. Hela is a female villain and Cate Blanchett always delievers. She could be set up to be a seminal villain the Marvel Universe and they need one. Thanos hasn’t impressed and hasn’t really been seen. Loki is an anti-hero at this point and honestly no one else even comes close. It’s one of the most glaring weaknesses of the entire universe. Valkyrie is played by a woman of color and it seems like another good choice. Idk much about her character but I doubt her white blondeness in the comics has a large bearing on her character. They even let Heimdal leave home and it turns out the brother has dreads. The saddest part is that I didn’t even know who he was because I forgot he existed. He looked so much like Bishop from Days of Future Past that it was all I could focus on. Literally didn’t realize it was him until I watched other reactions later. That’s how little I care about that character. He’s been a complete waste of Idris Elba’s talent so there’s nowhere for them to go but up.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

